Tain ready for 2024 Drysdale Motorcycles Scottish Motocross Championship season opener

By Team TMX on 15th Mar 24

News Motocross

The 2024 Drysdale Motorcycles Scottish Motocross Championship fires into life at Tain on March 16/17 - just off the A9 between Tain and Inver (IV9 1PE) – with the youth and support classes taking to the track on Saturday and the big-hitting Pro MX1, Pro MX2, Vets, B and C divisions racing on Sunday.

With clubs struggling for entries up and down the country, The Scottish Championship miraculously has more entries than last year already. Day entries will be available but please make contact with the Scottish Championship social media pages ahead of travelling.

The big news this year is that the two title favourites are both unable to ride the first round. Current MX1 Champion John Adamson has had a last-minute switch of teams from SC Sporthomes Husqvarna to Team LEXA. With commitments to race in Holland this weekend, neither he nor 2023 runner-up Conrad Mewse will be able to ride. 

Having sustained a serious injury to his ankle in this year's Arenacross championship, Conrad has been enduring an expensive rehabilitation programme. Following a consultation with a second specialist midweek, he has been advised not to ride. 

The battle for third in the 2023 Championship was a barnstormer between Cumbrian Brad Todd and north-east favourite Tony Craig, who both tied on points. With Adamson and Mewse now absent, it’s anybody’s guess who might take the first-round win. 

Entries show that Ireland might take the win this year with Grand Prix riders Jason Meara and Martin Barr making the journey across the Irish Sea along with veteran ace Richard McKeown.

MX2 Champion Carlton Husband has moved into the premier class for this year to compete with local favourite Ben Edwards and former champions Ross Rutherford and Billy MacKenzie. 

Tristan Purdon is in with a real shot of lifting the Pro MX1 title 

The SC Sporthomes Husqvarna team make the journey north with Charlie Putnam entered for MX1 along with South Africa’s Tristan Purdon who might just be the favourite for this year’s title.

Can Kyle McNicol capture the MX2 title?

In MX2, Kyle McNicol comes in as a strong favourite along with Lee Cameron and youth hotshot Ryan Waggott who moves up to the Pro class. 

2023 Vets 40 champ Michael Graham returns for 2024, as does Vets 50 champion Gordon Morrison and Vets 60 champion Ian Wilson. 

The B class for this season is filled with former MX1 riders. 2023 champion Scott Paterson will have his hands full with former pro rider John Robson, Ewan Kermack, Logan Ferguson, Irish aces Matty Fry, Charley Irwin and a whole host more.

The 2023 C class champion Logan Adsley moves up to B class for 2024 opening the door for a new champion this year.

Practice and qualifying begin at 9am with the first race starting at 10.30.

Entry is £10 on the gate, children under 12 are free. 

Saturday sees the youth competitors hit the track. 

In the Auto 50cc class, early favourite Ellik Miller has sustained a pre-season injury opening up the championship to Finlay Hoskisson and Ollie Hain as new possible winners. Last year’s Champion Aiden Anton has moved up to the 65cc class in what is a feature of this year’s championships.

Almost all of the 2023 youth champions have moved up a class, opening the door to new arrivals.

The action always comes thick and fast in the 65cc class

The 65cc class is no different and looks to be a dual between last year’s Auto 50cc champ Aiden Anton and current Scottish Winter Motocross Champion Liam Hannah.

Last year’s dominant 65cc Champion Lyall Rutherford, steps up a class to ride a TM in the SW85cc class that this year sees both of its brightest talents from 2023 progress up a class as well, and in one case two classes!

2023 champ Malachi Allen moves up to the BW85cc class to take on Englishmen Andrew Piggford and Hayden Statt. With Hayden Statt committed to certain European events, who will win either of the 85cc classes in Scotland this year is anyone’s guess.

2023 SW85cc runner-up Robbie Scott, has incredibly been graded to move up not one, but two classes. He will compete in this year’s Youth 125cc class, alongside last year’s BW85cc champ Jaden Anderson. Incredibly, Robbie won the final round of the Scottish Winter Motocross Championship at Leuchars, finishing ahead of fellow Scot Jaden Anderson and Englishman Connor Smith who was crowned champ. 

In the Youth 250cc class, Rhys Whyment comes in as the current Winter champion and will be a favourite along with Josh Hall, Ryan Lowes and new Irish entrants Charley Irwin and Jack Meara.

Qualifying begins at 9.00am on Saturday and racing begins at 11.00. Podium celebrations will follow the final motos.


Share this…

More like this…

Motocross Events April 2024

Find motocross events near you with our what's on guide for April.